Annual meeting 2011

The first annual meeting of AIMMS was a great success! It covered two days on 31 March and 1 April. The first day was an internal meeting and focused on AIMMS-members, whereas the second day concerned a programme for external contacts and stakeholders.

Internal annual meeting

Almost 150 persons joined the first day as lecture hall Q105 was filled with all kind of AIMMS-members: professors, staff members, post-docs, PhD students and Master’s students. They listened to four keynote lectures Martine Smit, Bas Teusink, Romano Orru and Guus van Dongen.

The Tuinzaal was almost too small for all the posters and animated discussions around them. Overall, the quality of the posters was of a very high level! Three posters were selected as the best posters of this Annual Meeting by a jury. The chairman of the jury, professor Nicholas Turner who is director of the Interdisciplinary Biocenter in Manchester and member of the scientific advisory board, awarded the three winners: Azra Delic , Sabrina de Munnik and Meike Wortel.

Next to the poster competition, there was a PhD competition for oral contributions. Each of the seventeen chairs of AIMMS pointed one PhD student. Based on the abstracts, six have been chosen to present their results. The audience scored the six candidates and the winner appeared to be Ewald Edink of the Medicinal Chemistry research group.

The day was closed with a nice Indonesian buffet and drinks served by the study association VCSVU.

External annual meeting

During the external annual meeting, three interesting lectures were first scheduled, covering topics about current and future developments and the challenges in AIMMS-related disciplines. The speakers of the morning session were Douwe Breimer, Adriano Henney and Rob Leurs.

 In the afternoon the first anniversary of AIMMS was celebrated. The session was opened by the director of AIMMS Nico Vermeulen with a newly prepared video. This session furthermore consisted of speeches of Lex Bouter and Nick Turner. Last but not least, the deans of the faculties (Bauke Oudega and Hubertus Irth) congratulated AIMMS with its first birthday, talked about their expectations and opened a bottle of champagne.